Kristen Howerton: Can We Bring The Holidays Down A Notch?

Good article.  I agree… mostly.  I love the stand she took, but I take a different approach.  Go give her a read.

Kristen Howerton: Can We Bring The Holidays Down A Notch?.

I have to actually blog about this.  I’m guilty but not so guilty here.

I admit to doing something for almost every holiday (sorry, no Pi day here), BUT all of my ideas are cheap and simple.  

Sometimes just printing out games and puzzles and coloring pages is as far as I’ll go.  

Or the silly Leprechaun… that was easy.  We had everything here already (oh yes, those Gold Coins they didn’t eat at Christmas were re-gifted for St Patrick’s Day).  

But I do it because I want my children to stay children and believe in good, pure things for as long as possible.  Hell, my 14 year old just found out the other night that I was the Leprechaun.  

We still use dollar store Valentine’s, with cheap lollipops, reuse our Easter baskets every year, use PAAS dye for simple dip and dye eggs… no reason to go overboard!  

Kids will love the simple things, trust me!

Leave a Reply

